We Paint Winners
Select your sport: SPORTS
      Team Axalta Partner

      Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP

      • Series: MotoGP
      • Riders: Fabio Quartararo

      Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Website

      Yamaha Factory Racing is Yamaha’s wholly owned full Factory Team in MotoGP. The team was founded in 1999 following the retirement of Grand Prix racing legend Wayne Rainey, who had run a factory-supported team in the 500cc class for the previous two years. A new company – Yamaha Motor Racing B.V. – was set up in the Netherlands to manage all but the technical side of Yamaha’s international racing activities and to run the team.

      In 2005, Yamaha Motor Racing B.V. as a company completed the move from the Netherlands in order to create a single Yamaha MotoGP European operation in Italy (Yamaha Motor Racing Srl), strengthening and centralising the management of the Yamaha Factory Racing MotoGP team.

      Yamaha Motor Racing Srl is based in Gerno di Lesmo (Italy), close to Monza. The workshop was rebuilt in 2008 and a state-of-the-art facility was opened, giving the team a superb new headquarters with all technical, logistical, managerial, and marketing & communications departments under one roof.

      Although responsibility for the technical aspects of MotoGP remains predominantly with Yamaha’s MotoGP Group in Japan, a number of Japanese and European engineering staff complete the European MotoGP set-up.

      Hiroshi Ito was appointed President of Yamaha Motor Racing Srl in 2019, while Lin Jarvis is Managing Director, a position he has held since the start of the company in 2005. Former Yamaha Superbike Team Manager Massimo Meregalli took on the role of Team Director of the Yamaha Factory Racing MotoGP team in 2011.

      In 2021, the Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP team are competing in the MotoGP World Championship with riders Maverick Viñales and Fabio Quartararo.


      • Constructors' World Championships:
        2008, 2009, 2010, 2015
      • Team World Championships:
        2004, 2005, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2015, 2016
      • Riders' Championships:
        2004, 2005, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2015