We Paint Winners
Select your sport: SPORTS
      Team Axalta Partner

      Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport

      • Series: Formula 1
      • Drivers: Lewis Hamilton, Valtteri Bottas
      • F1 Victories: 102

      Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Website | YouTube

      Via Mercedes-AMG

      After over five decades without a proper works involvement, Mercedes-Benz made its Formula 1 comeback in 2010. In the 2012 season, AMG became involved in the program and the team is currently competing as Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport as a result.

      Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg were the first drivers to race for the team in its new formation. The third round of the 2012 season saw the breakthrough: Nico Rosberg’s commanding win in the China Grand Prix marked the first victory for a works Mercedes since 1955.

      Following Michael Schumacher’s retirement, Lewis Hamilton joined the team in 2013 and clinched the world championship crown in the following year. Team-mate Nico Rosberg became runner-up. With three races to spare, Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport had already sealed the FIA Formula 1 constructors’ world championship title.

      The 2015 season saw the team do even better: with twelve 1-2 finishes from 19 races, the team topped its own record from the previous year. Once again, Lewis Hamilton won the drivers’ world championship while the team successfully defended the constructors’ title.

      Yet another improvement was achieved in 2016: Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport racked up 765 points and scored a total of 19 race wins and 20 pole positions from 21 rounds, Formula 1 records that resulted in another constructors’ title. Nico Rosberg became the world champion and the third Silver Arrow champion in Formula 1 history after Fangio and Hamilton.

      The 2017 season came along with some changes. For the first time, the team entered a car carrying the EQ Power+ designation, putting the Formula 1 car in line with future Mercedes-AMG hybrid performance cars.

      There was a change in the driver line-up, too: following Nico Rosberg’s retirement, Valterri Bottas became the new driver alongside Lewis Hamilton for 2017. Moreover, there were massive changes in the regulations. In spite of all the changes, Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport remained successful as it became the first team in Formula 1 history to defend the world championship titles in spite of a major rule change. With third place in the final standings for Bottas and the repeated title win by Hamilton, the Mission #4TheTeam, the fourth consecutive win of both Formula 1 world championship titles, was accomplished.

      In 2018, Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas were racing the fastest Mercedes race car ever, the new Mercedes-AMG F1 W09 EQ Power+. At the end of the season, the fifth consecutive world championship title in both the drivers’ and constructors’ classification was secured – a record only achieved once before in Formula 1 history. At the same time Lewis Hamilton entered into a highly exclusive club by virtue of his fifth drivers’ title: after Juan Manuel Fangio and Michael Schumacher, Lewis is only the third driver to have won five Formula 1 drivers’ titles or more.

      Read more about Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport here.


      • Constructors' Championships:
        2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018
      • Drivers' Championships:
        1954, 1955, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018