We Paint Winners
Select your sport: SPORTS

      The rookie success of Hendrick’s No. 24: From Jeff Gordon, Chase Elliott and William Byron

      © Phil Cavali Photography

      William Byron had a tradition to carry on when he got behind the wheel of the No. 24 for the 2018 season. Two traditions, actually. And with his Sunoco Rookie of the Year award, he carried on both legacies.

      First, there was his personal run of first-year honors. With his Cup Series Rookie of the Year, Byron has won first-year honors in four straight series and is just the second driver to capture the Cup, Xfinity and Truck Series awards in back-to-back-to-back seasons. 

      But there was also the legacy of the 24. Every driver of the No. 24 Chevrolet of Hendrick Motorsports has won the Cup Series Rookie of the Year.

      Jeff Gordon won the honor in 1993, Chase Elliott took home the title in 2016, and Byron kept it in the family this past season.

      “I hadn’t really thought about how it’s kind of continued on the legacy, but in a way it has,” Gordon said of the rookie runs in the No. 24. And he’s looking forward to the future. 

      Via Hendrick Motorsports